Discussion Category:  Software (GC)

Trouble getting Agilent IO Libraries/Chemstation to recognize GC

Hey there,

I'm getting error 0xBFFF0015 while trying to send commands from my PC to my GC.

I spent a good chunk of yesterday googling to try to solve my problem, but a lot of the solutions posted are over my head. I'm just an analyst, and have been tasked with getting the GC connected to a new computer. I'm not a programmer or coder, but my knowledge of computers in general is decent. I made some progress but have hit a wall, and I hope someone can help me. This is the equipment/software I'm dealing with:

6890A GC
GC GPIB card
version D of chemstation
32-bit windows XP SP 3
IO Libraries 16.3.17914.4 (downloaded this specifically because it's the latest version that supports XP SP 3)
(if it matters - 7673 tower with a controller box)
version D of chemstation

The previous computer that the GC connected just fine with was using an ISA HPIB card with version B of chemstation. The OS is Windows 2000 Pro SP 4. I have no idea how much of this is relevant. 

This is what the Agilent Connection Expert looks like right now:
http://imgur.com/a/7c04i

I got the checkbox to turn green by unchecking auto-identify

When I try to send commands to the instrument, I get this error:
! VI_ERROR_TMO: A timeout occurred
Visa ErrorCode: 0xBFFF0015 (-1073807339)

A lot of the solutions I see deal with programming or code that I don't know how to do. Is there any slightly less complicated fix I can try? Or is there a way to post the code it IS using so someone can look at it? Thanks for reading if you got this far.

JaneDoeADeer

Asked by

JaneDoeADeer
Report this Post
Dan Ste.MarieReply by
Dan Ste.Marie

JaneDoeADeer (love the name!!),