Discussion Category:  UV/VIS Spectrophotometers

Failed detector, the light path, the filter, and the light selector? Please help

Hi, I recently bought this spectrophotometer from ebay. Unfortunately, everything passes except for the detector, the light path, the filter, and the light selector. Though before I bought it everything read passed. Please can someone tell me what is wrong - by the way I am a high school student working on a science fair project.

Asked by

shayl.chetty2189
Report this Post
LabWrench219569111123

If it passed when you bought and first turned it on, it has to be fixable.  Follow stock troubleshooting routines- lamp (source) good, lenses clean, filters moving when/where they should.  I can see a blocked light path throwing all the errors you list.  iirc, the cover needs to be shut to ensure no stray light, so confirm that.

Find the service manual and don't be afraid to take the cover(s) off to see how the instrument is laid out.  You've got nothing to lose, if it has failed as you describe. 

Next level is board and detector level, so unless you find a tech of a certain age who remembers these units, you'll buy another one and swap things out until you get one working.  Play around with your unit first.  Buy some used lamps to see if lamp changing helps.

Good luck,  units of this vintage are quite straightforward and robust, and you have experience of it working, so that's to your favor.

Report this Post
dpkleessr